Origin and Expectation

Founder of CSPHA
Wai-tien Kuo

With the trend in aging society and low birth rate, Taiwan has become one of the countries that has the fastest growth in aging population around the world. Therefore, responding to the issues of taking care of the disabled and the elderly as well as medical care service are now the two biggest challenges and burdens for both government and society. As for caregivers, they have to deal with great pressure and daily complex works such as helping patients go to toilet, getting patients on to and off the bed, turning patients over and transfer.

According to the official statistics, there are more than 700 thousand people who need long-term care in Taiwan, whereas there are only 240 thousand caregivers, and 200 thousand of them are foreigners who have not been trained in home care service. It makes me worry about the safety of patients.

General caregivers often get occupational injuries such as aching back and strain while transferring patients because they lack the notion about using assistive equipments with proper ergonomics. On the other hand, the patients are under great risk of second injuries since they are not being taken care of appropriately. Preventing the elderly from falling is another major issue that the government and the general public should be aware of.

In 1992, England was the first to set a national standard to reduce the harm caused by moving patients without any assistance. Thereafter, Australia and other Western countries also introduced similar legislation. The principle they established is called “No-Lift Policy,” and it has become an international standard. By contrast, Taiwan does not value the quality of long-term care, not to mention enacting related regulation.

Having been working in medical care industry for about 40 years, I'm familiar with Taiwan's health care environment. First of all, we do not have enough professionals and social welfare resources. Second, the relevant information is not abundant, either. Third, it is urgent to build up the notion and system of safe patient handling and movement. I believe that if people have ability to dedicate themselves to society, they should do it. Therefore, I invited 48 scholars and experts of related fields to found “Chinese Safe Patient Handling & Movement Association” (CSPHA). Our goal is to be a non-governmental organization, promoting and setting up No-Lift Policy, meaning a principle that encourages people not to lift and not to transfer patients by their hands. Furthermore, we value the education in moving patients with proper ergonomics and focus on the importance of both caregivers' and patients' safety.

Last but not least, I sincerely thank all the promoters' participation and devotion. With our efforts, I hope we can gain support from government and the public, and further attract more people to dive in the campaign to make a safer and higher-quality health care environment in Taiwan.

緣起與期許

創會理事長 郭外天

  隨者高齡化,少子化的趨勢,台灣已成為少數老化成長最快速的國家。然如何因應失能者的生活照護及老人就養、就醫的問題,遂成為政府及社會即將面臨的重大考驗與負擔。而日常照護中,如廁沐浴、上下床、翻身、起身、轉身等移位或行動,為照護者每天必須面對的繁複工作和精神壓力。

據統計,台灣約有70萬人需長期照顧,影響所及,自不言而喻。而目前從事照顧服務者約24萬人,但其中約有20萬人為外籍看護,卻未受過任何照護服務的訓練,對國人在照護安全上,豈是公平?亦令人擔憂。

由於一般照護者資訊不足,沒有受過專業訓練,常因搬運、移位中,未符合人體工學及適時正確善用照護輔具,而發生背部疼痛及肌肉拉傷等傷病,造成工作和職業傷害。被照護者亦因受到不當的照顧,而造成身心的二次傷害。另防止老人跌倒更是刻不容緩,深值政府與社會務必關切及正視的重大議題。

縱觀國際,英國率先於1992年設立全國性的標準,來降低因徒手搬運移位病患而造成的傷害。澳洲、歐美許多國家也跟進設定類似法案,在這些國家所訂定的『No-Lift Policy』已成為國際規範,但反觀國內安全照護品質,卻未被重視,民眾權益何顧?尊嚴何在?遑論相關法令規定,實令人憾矣!

個人從事醫療照護產業30餘年,深悉國內照護環境,非但政府專職人力與社服資源不足,相關資訊更形匱乏,安全照護之觀念和制度,亦極待建立。捫心自問,果能為社會貢獻一份心力,亦所當為。遂邀集相關領域之學者專家(計48位)共襄盛舉,發起成立中華安全行動照護協會。其設立宗旨,為非營利為目的之社會團體,提倡並建立『No-Lift Policy』不徒手搬運與移動病患之規範,強調教育照護者於病患移動時所應注意的【人體工學及適時正確善用照護輔具】的觀念,積極宣導安全照護的重要,以提升國內照護品質,降低醫療資源及社會成本支出,並促進我國照護安全的健全發展和國際交流。

最後 謹此衷心感謝各位發起人的熱心參與和貢獻,並期盼我們的努力,能得到政府及社會大眾的肯定與支持,進而喚起更多的迴響,共同打造一個屬於大家的安全且有品質的照護環境。