Rules of Choosing Assistive Devices

Rules of Choosing Assistive Devices

Price is not everything when choose assistive devices. The most important rule is based on your needs. The evaluation has to be done according to patients' and caregivers' physical condition and living environment. For instance, it is more appropriate to use electrical assistive devices than manual operation when caregivers' strength is not enough and have to take patients climbing stairs.

No need to worry about the selection issue. Before choosing assistive devices, you can consult a therapist about an in-home evaluation or turn to your doctors or nurses for advice. You can also visit the showroom of CSPHA, in which we will demonstrate how to use the devices. Welcome to make an appointment to experience all of those for free.


How to Determine the Safety of Assistive Devices

Any assistive equipment that belongs to medical device has to meet national testing standards, get permit number approved by Ministry of Health and Welfare, and all stores selling medical devices must have permit license. You are free to ask the store for relevant document and proof, or check the website of Food and Drug Administration (www.fda.gov.tw).

In addition, opinions from other users and experts are helpful as well. It will be great for both caregivers and patients to operate assistive devices together and experience the comfort and practicality before deciding one. Ask for help and try, and then you will get the suitable and safe devices.

選購輔具的正確原則

選購輔具的正確原則

  安全照護輔具不一定「貴就是好」,選購安全照護輔具最重要的原則是「從需求出發」。按照被照護者和照護者的身體狀況及居家環境進行評估,例如照護者的力氣不大,又必須帶被照護者爬樓梯時,選擇電動輔具比手動輔具來得合適。

需要添購輔具者不需要太過擔心輔具挑選的問題,在選購輔具之前,可以先請治療師協助到府評估、致電中華安全行動照護協會,或向醫院出院準備處、醫師、護理師諮詢輔具購買建議。中華安全行動照護協會並有輔具展示中心,可免費體驗、並有專人說明,歡迎預約參觀。


如何判斷輔具安全性

  輔具若屬於醫療器材者(醫療器材有分級,輔具通常屬於一級或二級,差別在於侵入性、診斷治療、是否用電等,二級標準較一級嚴苛),即需要通過國家測試標準,擁有衛署字號,且販售醫療器材的商家必須擁有「販賣藥商許可執照」。購買時,可請商家提供相關證明。若仍不清楚,可至衛生福利部食品藥物管理署網站(www.fda.gov.tw)查詢。

另外,也可以多聽聽其他使用者或專家的意見,購買時,不妨讓照護者與被照護者親身體驗,共同操作,親自感受使用的舒適度和實用度。多多請益、親身試用,就能挑到合適且安全的安全照護輔具了。