What's Safe Patient Handling

Prevent Caregivers from Occupational Injuries
Manual lifting is the main reason for caregivers' injuries. Moving patients by caregivers' physical strength exposes them in high risk of MSD (Musculoskeletal Disorders). Moving a patient involves bending and lifting, which often cause back injuries. As a result, lots of caregivers may have to take sick leave or even quit the job.

In 2009, there were over 46,000 caregivers, including nurses, nursing workers, resident care attendants, who suffered from MSD in the U.S.. One third of the MSD had to do with the method and frequency to move patients. According to official statistics (United States Senate, 2010; UMass, 2011), the U.S. spent 740 million dollars on occupational injuries, and one third of them gave to healthcare workers.

Improving caregivers' work environment, reducing occupational injuries and elevating their willing to work as well as the retention rate has been the key issue for Taiwan's medical care system.

  • Raise caregivers' job satisfaction
Most caregivers' concern is that if safe patient handling may reduce their work efficiency. Actually, research has proved that it won't decrease work efficiency for a well-trained caregiver. In addition, safe patient handling increases their job satisfaction because the risk of injuries greatly decline. Applying safe patient handling not only makes caregivers feel that they are professional, but also reduce their workload and job risks. Their satisfaction therefore rises, which prolongs their willing to stay on the job.

我想了解安全照護

照護者免於照護傷害
導致照護人員受傷的因素中,多由徒手搬運造成的。照護者靠自身力量搬運被照護者,常暴露於高度風險中,大大提高了MSD的發生率。搬運被照護者常需彎身、抬舉等動作,背部尤其容易受傷,長期下來,因傷需要請假、離職,甚至無法繼續擔任照護人員的案例之多,不在話下。

2009年,美國即有超過46,000位照護工作者( 包含護士、看護、居家照護員等)因工作而受MSD所苦,其中超過三分之一的MSD與搬運病患的方法、頻率有關。根據估算,美國在2008年便因職業傷害, 直接或間接付出7.4億美金(美國參議院,2010;UMass,2011),其中有三分之一都是支付給醫護工作者。


改善照護者的工作環境、降低職業傷害與提高其工作意願與留任率現已成為台灣醫療照護體系中的重大課題。

  • 提升照護工作者滿意度

一般照護者普遍的疑慮是,使用安全照護可能降低工作速度與效率?其實並不會,國外研究證實,經過訓練的專業照護人員,使用安全照護來搬運被照護者的速度和效率並不會下降,並且,安全照護還能提升了照護者工作滿意度。主要因為照護人員的身體耗損率下降、搬運風險下降、自己的受傷情況也能夠大幅緩解,實證研究發現,實行安全照護後,照護人員感覺自己的專業地位提升、工作量減少、工作風險降低(照護者認為「不安全」的工作減少),工作滿意度也因此提升,還能延長在職時間,好處很多。